ICC Cricket World Cup 2019

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Team Format & Qualifying Method

The 2019 Cricket World Cup will be hosted by England between May 30-July 15. This will be the twelfth World Cup competition, and the fifth time it has been held in England.

The hosting rights were awarded in April 2006, after England withdrew from the 2015 Cricket World Cup, which will be held in Australia and New Zealand. In turn, those countries had been defeated by India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, and Sri Lanka for the 2011 contest.

2019 Cricket World Cup will take place in England & Wales during the summer starting from 30th May 2015 to 15th July 2015, it will be the 12th 50 over cricket world cup and 5th to be take place in England. Last time World Cup took place in England was back in 1999 where Australia won the competition.

The final of the 2019 Cricket world cup will be played at Lords in London while Oval cricket ground will host the opening match. England will get direct qualification to the 2019 world cup.

New format for the 2019 World Cup

ICC announced that they are planning to introduce a 10 team format which will have top 8 ODI teams plus two teams who will have to qualify through ICC World Cup Qualifiers 2018. The new format and suggestion of 10 team world cup has been widely criticized during the 2015 world cup. But if we look at the new format its not a bad idea.

The 2019 World Cup will feature 10 teams, down from 14 teams in 2011 and 2015. The top 8 teams in the ICC rankings – comprising the ten full members, Ireland and Afghanistan – will earn automatic qualification with the remaining 2 spots being decided by the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier in Bangladesh.

2019 Cricket World Cup Qualification:

Qualifying Methods
World Cup Spots TEAMS
 1 England (host nation)
 2-8 7 teams from the top 8 ICC ODI ranked teams as of 30th September 2017
 9-10 2 teams from 2018 ICC WC Qualifiers (to take place in Bangladesh)

table seperater

Unlike 14 teams in 2011 and 2015 world cup, ICC plan to have just 10 teams in the 2019 world cup. Where England will get the automatic qualification being the host nation while 7 teams from the top 8 ICC ODI ranking (excluding England) will get the automatic qualification. 2 more teams will join top 8 teams in the world after ICC World Cup qualifiers which will take place in 2018 in Bangladesh.

Ireland and Afghanistan have good chance of getting automatic qualification if they can finish in the top 8 in ODI ranking on 30 September 2017, which means if Ireland or Afghanistan do finish in top 8 ICC ranking one or two of ICC full member might miss out on the automatic qualification.

Lord’s set to stage 2019 World Cup final

The final would be held at Lord’s, and the semi-finals at Old Trafford and Edgbaston Cricket Ground. Lord’s staged the first three ICC Cricket World Cup finals in 1975, 1979 and 1983. Lord’s also staged a Women’s World Cup final in 1993 when England beat New Zealand by 67 runs. The opening match of the tournament will be held at The Oval.

ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 Format:

So ICC has decided to go ahead with 10 team format (unless something changes dramatically in coming year or two). ICC and ECB are looking to avoid the problems world cup faced back in 1999 where the tournament was over stretched due to super six event. So for 2019 world cup ICC has decided to go ahead with a round robin format just like 1992.

  • Round Robin Format For 2019 World Cup:

Every team will play against other 9 teams in the round robin fashion, which means every team will play 9 matches and top 4 teams will qualify for the semifinals.

So there will be total 48 matches in the competition 45 group games plus 2 semifinals and the big final. This format is pretty good because A) every team will have alot of matches in the competition B) fewer dead rubber games.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *