Oregon, Washington confirmed as two new member of Big Ten

The Big Ten confirmed Friday that Oregon and Washington will join the conference.

The league's membership will reach 18 schools with the addition of Oregon and Washington.

Departure from the Pac-12 would provide greater financial security for both schools.

This would increase the westward expansion of the Big Ten.

No other Football Bowl Subdivision conference currently has more than 16 teams.

In a statement, Oregon President Karl Scholz said, "I am thrilled that the University of Oregon has the opportunity to join the nation's premier academic-athletic conference."

Washington State President Kirk Schulz made a statement that "we are disappointed by the recent decisions of some of our Pac-12 peers."

With the departure of Colorado, Oregon and Washington, the Pac-12 has only seven members.