Republic of Ireland

Republic of Ireland football
The Republic of Ireland national football team (Irish: Foireann peile náisiúnta Phoblacht na hÉireann) represents the Republic of Ireland in men’s international football. It is governed by the Football Association of Ireland (FAI). The team made their debut at the 1924 Summer Olympics, reaching the quarter-finals. Between 1924 and 1936, the team competed as the Irish Free State and from then until 1950, it was referred to by the FAI as Éire or Ireland. In 1953, FIFA decreed that for competitive matches in tournaments that both Irish teams may enter, the FAI team would be officially called the Republic of Ireland while the IFA team was to be named Northern Ireland. Northern Ireland was allowed to use the title Ireland by FIFA in the Home International Competition until it was discontinued in 1984. The Republic of Ireland was the first nation from outside the United Kingdom to defeat England at home in a fixture played at Goodison Park, Liverpool, in 1949. The team also reached the quarter-final stage of the 1964 European Nations’ Cup, where they lost to the eventual champions Spain. Under the guidance of Jack Charlton, the team enjoyed their most successful era, reaching their highest FIFA world ranking ever at sixth in August 1993, and qualifying for UEFA Euro 1988 in their first appearance at the UEFA European Championship, reaching the quarter-finals of the 1990 FIFA World Cup in their first ever appearance at the finals, as well as making the last 16 at the 1994 edition. Charlton’s successor Mick McCarthy lost out on the next two major tournaments but ultimately qualified for the 2002 World Cup, making it to the last 16, repeating the feat at the UEFA Euro 2016 with Martin O’Neill. The team’s home stadium is the Aviva Stadium, in Dublin, although some of their home games have been played in other stadiums across the country. Their traditional colours are green shirts and white shorts. The current head coach is Stephen Kenny, and the captain is Séamus Coleman.

 Squad FIFA World Cup 2022

Republic of Ireland FIFA World Cup 2022  squad

S.NO.  Player Club
1 Caoimhin Kelleher Liverpool
2  Mark Travers AFC Bournemouth
3 Gavin Bazunu Portsmouth F.C.
4  Nathan Collins Burnley F.C.
5 John Egan Sheffield United
6 Shane Duffy Brighton & Hove Albion
7  Andrew Omobamidele Norwich City
8 Enda Stevens Sheffield United
9 Ryan Manning Swansea City
10 Matt Doherty Tottenham Hotspur
11 Seamus Coleman Everton F.C.
12  Cyrus Christie Swansea City
13 Jeff Hendrick Queens Park Rangers
14 Jason Knight Derby County Football Club
15  Alan Browne Preston North End
16  Josh Cullen R.S.C. Anderlecht
17 Conor Hourihane Sheffield United
18 Jayson Molumby West Bromwich Albion
19  Chiedozie Ogbene Rotherham United F.C.
20 James McClean Wigan Athletic F.C.
21  Daryl Horgan Wycombe Wanderers F.C.
22  Jamie McGrath Wigan Athletic F.C.
23  Callum Robinson West Bromwich Albion F.C.
24 Troy Parrott Milton Keynes Dons
25  Adam Idah Norwich City
26  James Collins West Ham United F.C.
27 Will Keane Wigan Athletic

Republic of Ireland FIFA World Cup 2022 Coach Stephen Kenny

Stephen Kenny is an Irish football manager and former player who is currently manager of the Republic of Ireland. He has formerly managed Longford Town, Bohemians, Derry City, Dunfermline Athletic, Shamrock Rovers and Dundalk. He is one of Ireland’s most successful domestic league managers, having won eight trophies with Dundalk. On 25 November 2018, Kenny was appointed as Republic of Ireland U21 manager following the departure of Noel King. On the same day, Mick McCarthy was appointed Republic of Ireland senior team manager with Kenny set to replace him in 2020. Republic of Ireland FIFA World Cup 2022  coach

Republic of Ireland FIFA World Cup 2022 Jersey Kit

Republic of Ireland FIFA World Cup 2022 jersey


About the author


Scott Staffin will manage the editorial section in Scott is a passionate soccer blogger from the United States. He is also a football player and a diehard fan of Argentina.