The Israel national football team (Hebrew: נבחרת ישראל בכדורגל, Nivḥeret Yisra’el BeChaduregel) represents Israel in international football, and is governed by the Israel Football Association (IFA). Israel’s national team is the direct successor of the Mandatory Palestine (Eretz Israel) national team, which played five internationals in 1934–1940, and was managed by the Eretz Israel Football Association. The Israel Football Association is a full member of the European Confederation UEFA since 1994. Israel qualified for the FIFA World Cup for their first time in 1970. Israel has managed to win the 1964 AFC Asian Cup, prior to a forced relocation to UEFA.


About the author


Scott Staffin will manage the editorial section in Scott is a passionate soccer blogger from the United States. He is also a football player and a diehard fan of Argentina.