The England national football team has represented England in international football since the first international match in 1872. It is controlled by The Football Association (FA), the governing body for football in England, which is affiliated with UEFA and comes under the global jurisdiction of world football’s governing body FIFA. England competes in the three major international tournaments contested by European nations: the FIFA World Cup, the UEFA European Championship, and the UEFA Nations League. England is the joint oldest national team in football. It played in the world’s first international football match in 1872, against Scotland. England’s home ground is Wembley Stadium, London, and its training headquarters is St George’s Park, Burton upon Trent. The team’s manager is Gareth Southgate. England is one of eight nations to have won the World Cup. England has qualified for the World Cup 15 times. It won the 1966 World Cup Final, a tournament it also hosted, and finished fourth in both 1990 and 2018. England has never won the European Championship, with its best performance to date being runners-up in 2020. As a constituent country of the United Kingdom, England is not a member of the International Olympic Committee and so does not compete at the Olympic Games. England is currently the only team to have won the World Cup but not won any major continental title at senior level, and the only non-sovereign entity to have won the World Cup.

FIFA World Cup 2022 England Squad

England Football team Squad FIFA 2022
NO. Player Club
1 Sam Johnstone  West Bromwich Albion F.C.
2 Nike Pope Burnley F.C.
3 Dean Henderson Manchester United F.C.
4 Ben Chilwell Chelsea F.C.
5 Conor Coady  Wolverhampton Wanderers F.C.
6 Eric Dier Tottenham Hotspur F.C.
7 Reece James  Chelsea
8 Harry Maguire Manchester United F.C.
9 Tyrone Mings Aston Villa
10 Luke Shaw Manchester United F.C.
11 John Stones Manchester City F.C.
12 Kieran Trippier Newcastle United F.C.
13 Kyle Walker Kyle Walker
14 James Ward-Prowse Southampton f.c
15 Declan Rice West Ham United F.C.
16 Kalvin Phillips Leeds United
17 Mason Mount Chelsea F.C.
18 Jesse Lingard  Manchester United F.C.
19 Phil Foden Manchester City F.C.
20 Jude Bellingham Borussia Dortmund
21 Ollie Watkins Aston Villa
22 Raheem Sterling Manchester City F.C.
23 Bukayo Saka Arsenal
24 Marcus Rashford  Manchester United F.C.
25 Dominic Calvert-Lewin Everton F.C.
26 Harry Kane  Tottenham Hotspur F.C.

England Coach (Manager) Gareth Southgate

England Coach Gareth Southgate Southgate was manager of Middlesbrough from June 2006 until October 2009. He also managed the England under-21 team from 2013 to 2016, before becoming the England national team manager in 2016, succeeding Sam Allardyce. In his first tournament as England manager, the 2018 FIFA World Cup, Southgate became the third manager to reach a World Cup semi-final with the England team, which won him the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Coach Award. At UEFA Euro 2020, he became the first England manager to reach the final of a European Championship and to reach any major tournament final since 1966; England eventually lost to Italy in a penalty shootout.

2022 FIFA World Cup England Jersey Kit

FIFA WC 2022 England Team Jersey Kit  


About the author


Scott Staffin will manage the editorial section in worldcupupdates.org. Scott is a passionate soccer blogger from the United States. He is also a football player and a diehard fan of Argentina.