Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures and format

Rugby World Cup

Between the start of the Rugby World Cup and the final on Saturday, October 28, 2023, there will be seven weeks. There are 20 teams from each of the six Six Nations teams. South Africa is the defending champion because they beat England in the 2019 final.

Rugby World Cup 2023 fixtures

The first part of the tournament is the pool stage. The 20 countries are split into four groups of five. The top two teams from each of the five pools move on to the knockout rounds. The winners of Pool A play the runners-up of Pool B, the winners of Pool B play the runners-up of Pool A, the winners of Pool C play the runners-up of Pool D, and the winners of Pool D play the runners-up of Pool C. The winners of these games move on to the semi-finals, and then the winners of the two semi-finals play each other in the final.

Read More -   India vs Australia ODI Series: Schedule, Venues, Squads, Head-To-Head Records, And Live Streaming

If you want to know more about the tickets for Rugby World Cup 2023, click here.

Pool A

  • France
  • New Zealand
  • Italy
  • Uruguay
  • Namibia

Fixtures: September 8: France vs. New Zealand, September 9: Italy vs. Namibia, September 14: France vs. Uruguay, September 15: New Zealand vs. Namibia, September 20: Italy vs. Uruguay, September 21: France vs. Namibia, September 27: Uruguay vs. Namibia, September 29: New Zealand vs. Italy, October 5: France vs. Italy (October 6).

Pool B

  • South Africa
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Tonga
  • Romania

Fixtures: Ireland plays Romania on September 9, South Africa plays Scotland on September 10, Ireland plays Tonga on September 16, South Africa plays Romania on September 17, South Africa plays Ireland on September 23, Scotland plays Tonga on September 24, Scotland plays Romania on September 30, South Africa plays Tonga on October 1, Ireland plays Scotland on October 7, and Tonga plays Romania (October 8).

Pool C

  • Wales
  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Georgia
  • Portugal
Read More -   World Cup 2026: Why did FIFA changed the format for the World Cup 2026?

Fixtures: Australia plays Georgia on September 9; Wales plays Fiji on September 10; Wales plays Portugal on September 16; Australia plays Fiji on September 17; Georgia plays Portugal on September 23; Wales plays Australia on September 24; Fiji plays Georgia on September 30; Australia plays Portugal on October 1; Wales plays Georgia on October 7; and Fiji plays Portugal on October 15. (October 8).

Pool D

  • England
  • Japan
  • Argentina
  • Samoa
  • Chile

Fixtures: On September 9, England plays Argentina, on September 10, Japan plays Chile, on September 16, Samoa plays Chile, on September 17, England plays Japan, on September 22, Argentina plays Samoa, on September 23, England plays Chile, on September 28, Japan plays Samoa, on September 30, Argentina plays Chile, on October 7, England plays Samoa, and on October 8, Japan plays Argentina (October 8).

About the author