Auction for Women Premier League 2023 likely to be held on 10th February in Bengaluru | WPL 2023 Auction

Women’s Premier League 2023 auction likely to be held on 10th February in Bengaluru | WPL 2023 Auction

Auction for Women Premier League 2023: The Richest cricket board in the world, the Board of Control for Cricket in India intends to hold the first-ever Women’s Premier League in Bengaluru on February 10, 2023. BCCI intends to make an official announcement in the next few days, but reliable sources close to the development have confirmed the bidding details.

For More Updates Follow Us:

For some reason, the Board of Control of Cricket in India opted not to go with player drafts for the Women Premier League. Instead, they decided on an uncapped player’s auction. For uncapped players, BCCI set a base price of ~20 lakhs.

For capped players in Women Premier League, BCCI set a base price of 40 lakhs. There were approximately 150 uncapped players and capped players who would be in the bidding. All teams will have a  12-crore salary purse each.

Women’s Premier League 2023 auction

The IPL governing council meeting will occur next week, followed by finalising the schedule. At present, the dates agreed upon are March 4-24, which will be held entirely in Mumbai. Instead of multi-city, WPL will be held only in Mumbai in three stadiums.

However, IPL Chairman Arun Dhumal noted that the board was still consulting their organization partners on the specific venues.

The BCCI acquired five Hindi Premier League franchises  Ahmedabad, Mumbai, Bengaluru, Delhi, and Lucknow for a total purchase price of INR 4669.99 crore. Gautam Adani’s Adani Sportsline Private Limited withdrew an immense sum of money to win the franchise based in Ahmedabad.

Mukesh Ambani’s Indiawin Sports Limited also withdrew an immense amount of money to land the franchise based in Mumbai.

Women Premier League Bidding Winners

Apart from Adani Sportsline which acquired Gujarat Giants, Indiawin Sports Pvt. Limited won the bidding for the Mumbai franchise with a bid of INR 912.99 crores. Whereas Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd, Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd and JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd won the bid for the rest of the three teams, Bangalore, Delhi and Lucknow respectively with winning bids of INR 901 crores, INR 810 crores and INR 757 crores respectively.

Winning bidderWinning bidFranchise
Adani Sportsline Pvt. Ltd1289 CroreAhmedabad
Indiawin Sports Pvt. Ltd (MI)912.99 CroreMumbai
Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd (RCB)901 CroreBangalore
JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd (DC)810 croreDelhi
Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd757 CroreLucknow

About the author


Pratap is a freelance content writer based in India. He is a sports enthusiastic and loves reporting news and events related to sports like Cricket, Soccer/Football.