ICC World Test Championship 2017 Schedule

ICC World Test Championship 2017 Schedule: Expected Date, Teams & Format

The ICC World Test Championship was intended to become the premier championship for Test cricket run by the ICC with the play-offs being scheduled to be held for the first time in 2017. The original plans to hold the competition in 2013 were abandoned due to financial problems. It was going to replace the one-day international competition, the ICC Champions Trophy. The top four ranked teams on December 31, 2016 – the cut-off date set by the International Cricket Council (ICC) – would have played the three-match Test championship between the first and third weeks of June 2017. There would have been two semi-finals and the winners play the final.

ICC World Test Championship 2017 Schedule

Starting Date First and Third week of June
Participant teams Four
Format Semi final and final

Qualified Teams:  teams yet not qualify for the tournament. As soon as the team confirmed, update will be available here.

The tournament feature only three matches, two semi final and final. The format is made of four years long so far for a season which has been played by the ICC current ten Test teams as well as India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Australia, England, New Zealand, South Africa, West Indies, Zimbabwe and Bangladesh.  The first Test will be held on beginning weekend and the second test will third weekend. After play-off the two winner will play for the champion trophy. ICC yet not confirm about the drawn match.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *